The Phoenix Family Law News Blog - Find a Phoenix Family Attorney

The Requirements For Domestic Partnership Registration in Phoenix

While the state of Arizona does not allow for same-sex marriages, the city of Phoenix grants some benefits to same-sex couples if they are registered as domestic partners. According to the City Clerk’s Department, domestic partners in Phoenix are given visitation rights in any health care facility located within the City of Phoenix. When two people register as domestic partners, it can also be seen as a symbol of commitment to one another — similar to that of a marriage.

So what exactly are the requirements for domestic partnership registration? to begin with, both partners must reside within the City of Phoenix and share a common residence. Neither individual in the partnership can be married to any third party or be part of an existing domestic partnership or civil union with any third party. Each individual in the partnership must also be 18 years of age or older and the two partners cannot be related to one another by blood closer than what would bar marriage in the state of Arizona.

Contrary to what some people may believe, domestic partnerships in Phoenix are not limited to just same-sex couples. Heterosexual couples can also register as domestic partners as well, but both individuals in the partnership must be in a committed relationship and share responsibility for each other's common welfare.

Couples who would like to register as domestic partners must file a declaration of domestic partnership in person with the City Clerk Department. Remember, there's a $50 non-refundable administrative fee for registering, so be sure to bring some cash.

Related Resources: