The Phoenix Family Law News Blog - Find a Phoenix Family Attorney

How to Get a Marriage License in Phoenix

Compared to other states, Arizona has pretty simple requirements for obtaining a marriage license. So if you're going to the chapel, and you want to get married, here is what you need to do. 

In the Grand Canyon state, there's no waiting period from the time you apply for a marriage license and the time you actually receive the license. In Arizona, there's no need to be a current or previous resident of the state to get a marriage license. There's also no requirement to show a copy of a divorce decree for a person that was previously married and no requirement to have a blood test before marriage.

To obtain a marriage license in Phoenix, couples must go through the Maricopa County Clerk of the Court. According to the clerk's office, the marriage license costs $72.00. That fee can be paid with cash, check, bank guarantee card, or credit card. Both parties must be present at the county clerk's office to retrieve the license and an unused marriage license which will expire one year from the date that the fee is paid.

People under the age of 18 can get married in the state of Arizona, but they must either have a notarized parental consent form, or be accompanied by a parent whey applying for the marriage license. Anybody under the age of 16 looking to get married must go through an additional step of obtaining a court order in addition to getting parental approval.

Adults who are 18 years of age and older will be required to provide a government issued photo I.D. such as a driver's license, to show proof of age and to confirm their identity.

While getting married is simple, the complications that arise from divorce are far more complicated.

Experienced Phoenix family lawyers can usually answer questions about the legal process of getting married and make suggestions about premarital agreements. For further information about the process of getting a marriage license in Phoenix, contact the Maricopa County Clerk of the Court at (602) 506-3360 or 506-2125.

Related Resources: