The Phoenix Family Law News Blog - Find a Phoenix Family Attorney

How to File For Divorce in Arizona

So you've just decided that you would like to divorce your spouse. What do you do now? How do you file for divorce in Arizona?

Divorce, which is also known as the dissolution of marriage in Arizona, can be a very long and strenuous legal process. This is why it's important to get a Phoenix family lawyer involved so that you can get legal advice and have an expert who can be of assistance.

According to the Judicial Branch of Arizona, the process starts when one spouse completes a "Petition for Dissolution of Marriage" and files it with the Clerk of Court at the courthouse. When filing for divorce, the petitioner must pay a fee of $321. Once the divorce papers are served to the respondent, he or she will have a certain number of days to respond to the petition. The exact number of days varies depending on the type of service and where the party resides.

Arizona state law requires a 60 day waiting period from the date of the divorce filing and service of the initial dissolution documents. After the 60 days, the process of a divorce continues under circumstances that depend up on the family situation. For example, a divorce where parties have minor children and a significant amount of property or debt to be divided can take a great deal of additional time, if there are disputes on child custody or property division.

A divorce is finalized through a consent decree, which must be submitted by the parties involved. A consent decree can only be submitted when all the required time frames have been met and a response fee is paid. For more specific information about the state's process of divorce, visit Maricopa County's superior court website.

Related Resources: